The Practice Room

How To Questions and Answers


 
 
 
 

How do I set up student accounts?

On the main account screen is a section where you can add students.


addastudent

Once a student is added, the site will send them an email with their login information. You won't need to tell them anything other than to watch for the email.

Students who are added will appear in the list below the "Add a student" section.

 

How do I delete students?

In the main account view, find the student you want to delete in the student list. Click on the "Delete" button. A pop up will appear asking you if you are sure you want to delete this student. Keep in mind, once a student is deleted, their history is gone and can not be retrieved.


deleteastudent

 

How do I edit student information?

In the main account view, find the student whose account you need to edit in the student list. Click on "Account" to the left of their name. This will bring you to a view of their account. Make any necessary changes and then click on the update button. The information will be updated.

 

How do I view history?

In the main account view, find the student whose history you would like to view in the student list. Click on "Account" to the left of their name.
viewandeditstudentinformation

This will bring you to a view of their account. Click on the green "View History" button and the history record will open.


viewstudenthistory

On this page you can see their latest login at the very top of the list, and the oldest login at the bottom of the list. You'll be able to see which exercies were viewed and when they were viewed.

If you notice that the time stamps are a few seconds apart, you know that the student did not spend a lot of time on that exercise. If the time stamps are further apart, it's a good indication that the student spent more time on that exercise. There is no way to guarantee a student is practicing, but this does provide a reasonable measure of accountability.

 

How do I clear history?

In the main account view, find the student whose history you would like to clear in the student list. Click on "Account" to the left of their name. This will bring you to a view of their account. Click on "Clear History" at the top to remove their history.


deletestudenthistory

Only teachers can clear student history. This is often a good idea at the start of the school year when kids may want to work their way through the exercises again.

 

How do I use the practice exercises?

To practice, click "Practice Sight Singing" at the top of your account view and then select a type of exercise. This will take you to the main exercise view.

From here, you will be shown the first exercise of that type. You can click on the tune up button to get a sense of the key and a starting pitch. If it helps you, you can practice to a steady beat. When you are done practicing, click "Hear the Answer" to hear how the exercise was supposed to sound.

There are some different support options depending on what type of exercise you're viewing.

If you're viewing rhythmic exercises, you can view the exercise with the counts written under the music, or without.


If you're viewing melodic exercises or real music, you can view the exercise with the solfege written under the music or not.

You also have several audio options in the real music section. You can toggle back and forth between part predominant tracks and part missing tracks.

Click on "Next" to move to the next exercise in that level. The site will begin at level 1 and when that is finished, level 2 exercises will appear and so on. On this screen you can also choose to view some help resources including:

  • a choral glossary
  • a solfege reference page
  • the entire curriculum
 

How does the exercise filter work?

You can filter exercises to see only what you want to work on. You can set the filter for level, time signature or key signature. Choose what you want and then click "Filter Exercises".


exercisefilter

This filter will remain in place until you change it or clear it. So the next time you log in, the filter you set will still be in place. To clear the filter, just make sure the choices are set to: Any Level, Any Time Signature and Any Key Signature and then click "Filter Exercises" again. This will reset things to a default state.

 

How do I use dictation mode?

Instead of viewing the image of the exercise, you'll listen to the exercise and write out what you hear. You can write it out using music manuscript paper, your favorite music software program, or you can download our dictation workbook. This book has some blank music for designed specifically for this purpose.

Under "Start Here" you'll will be able to see the key signature and starting pitch. After you've written it out, click on "See the Answer" to see how you did.

 

Still have questions that weren't answered here? Head on over to the main contact page.